Proudly Sponsored by
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View CartCheck Out
Proudly Sponsored by
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View CartCheck Out

Brewer Shield wins 2017/18 Spirit of Cricket Award

The TravelSIM Manly Warringah Waratahs have claimed the Spirit of Cricket award at the 2017/18 McDonald’s Women’s Premier Cricket Premiers Dinner at the Dockside Function Centre on Friday.

The award goes to the women’s club that best exemplifies the values of the game we all know and love.

Women’s Cricket manager Ross Denny attended the event along with some of our coaching staff and players. It was great to see Ross accept the award so gracefully on behalf of the club.

While only entering a Brewer Shield team into the competition this season, our girls obtained the highest average score across any of the women’s grade club, thus winning the award despite not having a 3rd, 2nd or 1st grade side.

It is an amazing achievement for the girls who showed a huge amount of passion and determination in their first year under the Waratahs banner. It goes to show what a bright future our women’s cricket program has.

“What a great night it was, I was so proud to accept the award that was really won by the girls” said Denny.

“The ethos that was instilled in them by our coach Simon Waddington, as well as how the more experienced girls behaved both on and off the field was exemplary. They are all a real credit to our club”.

“We had a few tough times on the field this year with such a young team, but the women’s game has a big a big future at our club and this is the first of hopefully many trophies.”

It is fair to say that the girls are showing the men up in this Spirit of Cricket department and something the boys need to improve on.

Congrats again to all involved in our women’s program.

All of the winners from the evening were as follows:

  • 2018 McDonald’s Women’s Premier Cricket Player of the Year – Rhiannon Dick (Bankstown Sports)
  • Bob Curtin Umpires Award – Shebani Bhaskar (Universities)
  • Spirit of Cricket Award – Manly-Warringah
  • Club Championship – St George-Sutherland
  • 1st Grade Batting Aggregate – Rhiannon Dick (485 runs)
  • 1st Grade Batting Average – Rhiannon Dick (485 runs at 69.29)
  • 1st Grade Bowling Aggregate – Emily Mifsud (St George-Sutherland – 24 wickets)
  • 1st Grade Bowling Average – Nell Gibson (Universities – 10 wickets at 7.5)
  • 1st Grade Wicketkeeping – Laura Wright (Bankstown Sports – 15 dismissals)
  • 1st Grade Premiers – Universities
  • 1st and 2nd Grade Combined T20 Premiers – Bankstown Sports
  • 1st and 2nd Grade Combined T20 Player of the Year – Laura Wright (Bankstown Sports)
  • 2nd Grade Player of the Year – Kelsey Miller (Parramatta)
  • 3rd Grade Player of the Year – Erica James (Universities)
  • Under 17 Brewer Shield Player of the Year – Kinjal Kumari (Gordon)