Proudly Sponsored by
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View CartCheck Out
Proudly Sponsored by
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View CartCheck Out

Beadle wins O’Reilly Medal as TravelSIM Waratahs clean up at Sydney Grade Premiers dinner

The TravelSIM Manly Warringah Waratahs have topped a magnificent season with all-rounder Ahillen Beadle winning the O’Reilly Medal as the best player in first grade during the 2014/15 season at the Sydney Grade Premiers dinner.

The O’Reilly medal is the most prestigious individual award in Australian Grade Cricket and is voted on by the umpires after each match. Beadle has come close last season but finally topped the award for this season with 18 points across the year, one point ahead of Bankstown’s Phill Wells and 4 votes ahead of University of NSW’s David Dawson.

Beadle again had a mighty impressive season, hitting 698 runs across all non-finals matches and taking 15 wickets. His final tally was 730 runs and 15 wickets including finals matches.

AB was very excited about his award.

“I sat at the end of season function last year and remember thinking ‘that should be me getting the O’Reilly Medal”. To actually achieve that this year has been amazing.”

“I couldn’t have dreamed of a better season. I made my Big Bash debut, won a competition, played some amazing cricket and had so much fun along the way. To win the O’Reilly Medal really tops things off”.

The entire 1st Grade and 3rd grade sides, plus many of our administrators and volunteers, where on hand to witness a great night put on by the SCA. The entertainment was absolute top shelf, with Mickey Edwards and Nic Bills especially getting taken to town.

Beadle’s O’Reilly Medal was not the only silverware that the Waratahs came away with. Of course we accepted The Belvidere Cup as winners of the 1st grade competition, as well as the Mitchell Cup for winning the 3rd grade competition. Of course, Jack Ritchie was also red for his Benaud Medal winning Grand Final innings.

President Andrew Fraser accepted the Club Championship trophy, while Shawn Bradstreet won the Bob Simpson Award as the coach of the year. Both of these characters show exactly what Manly is about so it was fitting that they were both at the centre of the evening

Finally, Adam Crosthwaite, Ahillen Beadle and Nick McLachlan were named as part of the Kingsgrove Sports 1st Grade team of the year after their fantastic efforts. McLachlan was the competitions leading wicket taker during the preliminary rounds, while Crosthwaite was the 5th leading run scorer in the preliminary rounds and the 2nd leading runscorer overall for the entire season behind Phil Wells.

The full 1st grade team of the year was as follows:

Ahillen Beadle (698 runs and 15 wickets, captain – Carlton Mid O’Reilly Medallist, Manly-Warringah)
Philip Wells (869 runs, Bankstown)
Daniel Solway (856 runs, Bankstown)
Ryan Gibson (835 runs, Campbelltown-Camden)
Harry Evans (817 runs, Gordon)
Adam Crosthwaite (781 runs, Manly-Warringah)
Simon Keen (749 runs, Blacktown)
David Dawson (wicketkeeper – 34 dismissals & 680 runs, University of NSW)
Nick McLachlan (40 wickets, Manly-Warringah)
Tim Ley (38 wickets – Sydney University)
Ellery Clugston (36 wickets, Mosman)
Jarrad Burke (34 wickets, Bankstown)

The full end of season awards were as follows:

Carlton Mid O’Reilly Medallist – Ahillen Beadle (Manly-Warringah)
Club Championship – Manly-Warringah
First Grade Premiers – The Belvidere Cup – Manly-Warringah
First Grade Limited-Overs – Bankstown
Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup – St George
Second Grade – Sydney University
Third Grade – Manly-Warringah
Fourth Grade – Penrith
Fifth Grade – Northern District
Poidevin-Gray Shield (U/21) – Sutherland
A W Green Shield (U/16) – Bankstown
Spirit of Cricket – Sydney University
Coach of the Year (The Bob Simpson Award) – Shawn Bradstreet (Manly-Warringah)
Ground of the Year:

  1. First – Hurstville Oval (St George)
  2. Second – Joe McAleer Oval (Blacktown)
  3. Third – Bankstown Oval (Bankstown)

Lower Grade – Tunks Park (North Sydney)
Captain of the Year:

  1. First Grade – Jarrad Burke (Bankstown)
  2. Second Grade – Andrew Jamieson (Bankstown)
  3. Third Grade – Jason Coleman (Parramatta)
  4. Fourth Grade – Ryan Bolger (Northern District)
  5. Fifth Grade – Paul Witherly (St George)

Player of First Grade Final (Benaud Medal) – Jack Ritchie (Manly-Warringah)
Player of Final, First Grade Limited-Overs (Michael Bevan Medal) – Philip Wells (Bankstown)
Player of Final, Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup – Stewart McCabe (St George)
Player of the Poidevin-Gray Final (Shane Lee Medal) – Jack Leaning (Sutherland)
Player of AWG Final (Kevin Cunningham Medal) – Creedence King (Bankstown)

DSC 9661
President Andrew Fraser, 1st Grade skipper Tim Cruickshank and Head Coach Shawn Bradstreet with the The Belvidere Cup

DSC 9653

Adam Crosthwaite, Andrew Fraser, Tim Cruickshank, John Warn, Steve O’Keefe, Shwn Bradstreet and Geoff Rogers with the Belvidere Cup

DSC 9607
Jack Ritchie accepting the John Benaud Medal

DSC 9592
Adam Crosthwaite and Ahillen Beadle celebrating with the rest of the 1st Grade Tam of the Yar

DSC 9569
Ahillen Beadle accepts his O’Reilly Medal

DSC 9532
Warren Evans accepts THe Mitchell Cup

DSC 9512
Mickey Edwards and Nic Bills managed to get themselves on stage to help out the comedian

DSC 9363
President Andrew Fraser and Cricket NSW Chairmen and Waratahs committee member John Warn with Club Champiosnhip trophy

DSC 9329
Shawn Bradstreet accepting his Bob Simpson award for the coach of the year

DSC 9362
Andrew Fraser during his Club Championship acceptance speech

DSC 9352
John Warn presenting Andrew Fraser with the Club Championship trophy

Leave a Reply