Proudly Sponsored by
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View CartCheck Out
Proudly Sponsored by
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View CartCheck Out

Presentation Night wraps up successful 2022/23 season

The Manly Warringah Waratahs has said farewell to a highly successful 2022/23 season at the annual presentation evening on Saturday 16 April.

Returning to the Manly Pacific, more than 200 guests consisting of players past and present, wives, girlfriends and family members gathered to celebrate another fantastic year.

MC duties were passed from Jay Lenton to Sam Hole this year, who did a fantastic job throughout the night.

The night was as always started off by Club President Andrew Fraser, who gave a great overview of one the Waratah’s most successful seasons.

Frase also announce the first major award of the night, presenting the Presidents Award to second grade captain Andrew Jamieson.

It is a well deserved award for a fantastic leader and one of the most selfless men at the club.

From there the awards continued, with batting and bowling awards given to the standout performers for each side, including for the first time three women’s sides, as well as club wide performance awards. For the full list of winners, see below.

The most special award of the evening was presented just before the dinner break, when Tim Cruickshank was officially announced as the 53rd Life Member of the Manly Warringah District Criket Club.

It was a special moment with Tim giving an amazing speech paying homage and giving credit to his past coaches, team mates and great mate (and Life Member 51) Michael Juice Shepheard.

Club legend and fellow Life Member Mike Pawley said it was one of the best speeches he had hear in the club history.

Following the dinner break, some of the club most important awards were presented, including the George Lowe medal, which was won by Darcey Whiteley.

This award honours the player who has contributed the most to the local community. It’s
named after George Lowe due to the great service he gave to the game of cricket on the
Northern Beaches and the Manly Club in general.

Senior women’s player was also presented, and was won by Shivani Mehta, who had a fantastic season which also saw her earn a NSW debut.

The parents of the late Michael “Juice” Shepheard were invited on stage to present the next award, the renamed Michael “Juice” Shepheard Senior Male Player of the Year.

Ryan Hadley was presented the award after another great season which saw him pick up a NSW Shield Debut, Ryan also paid homage to Juice and acknowledged his pride in winning the award.

The mens 4th Grade Premiers were invited on stage next, where they received their medallions after becoming the first side in the club almost 150 year history to win back to back premierships.

After which, the clubs other premiership side were invited on stage to colelct their premiership medals, the second premiership the side has collected in the past 3 seasons.

Congratulations to both sides on not only your premierships in 2022/23 but also the consistency over the challenging past few years.

The Women’s Players Player was awarded to Lara Hughes, while Tom Kaye took home the Mens Players Player, collecting big points in the last couple rounds to collect the award.

The end of the evening saw David Gainsford honoured as the 2022/23 Keith Marks Clubman of the Year at the Raydel Manly Warringah Waratahs annual presentation night.

Gains is a stalwart at Manly Cricket, and despite his amazing service to the club for many years, David Gainsford has never won Clubman of the Year before this year.

Great mate Roy Vumbaca presented the award with a fantastic speech summing up Gains service to the club, which also included words from Phil Marks.

Gainsy was caught completely by surprise but it was fantastic to have his entire family there to help him celebrate

Congratulations Gains on this amazing achievement, and to all award winners on the night.

A full list of award winners is set out below.

Life Member Tim Cruickshank
Keith Marks Clubman of the Year David Gainsford
Presidents Award Andrew Jamieson
George Lowe Medal Darcey Whiteley
Players’ Player – Male Tom Kaye
Players’ Player – Female Lara Hughes
Michael ‘Juice’ Shepheard Senior Player of the Year Ryan Hadley
Senior Player of the Year – Female Shivani Mehta
Most Improved – Female Isabella Zovi
Bob Lind – Junior Player – Male Josh Seward
Junior Player of the Year – Female Eliza Henry
Langdon Gould Scholarship Preston Lee
1st Grade Batting Average – Male Joel Davies
1st Grade Bowling Average – Male Mickey Edwards
1st Grade Batting Average – Female Shivani Mehta
1st Grade Bowling Average – Female Kelly Castle
2nd Grade Batting Average – Male Ben Bryant
2nd Grade Bowling Average – Male Josh Seward
2nd Grade Batting Average – Female Eliza Henry
2nd Grade Bowling Average – Female Brooke Frew
3rd Grade Batting Average – Male Andrew Boulton
3rd Grade Bowling Average – Male Andrew Boulton
3rd Grade Batting Average – Female Renee Hough
3rd Grade Bowling Average – Female Sallie Molyneux
4th Grade Batting Average – Male Jake Hutchings
4th Grade Bowling Average – Male Hayden Williams
5th Grade Batting Average – Male Matt Evans
5th Grade Bowling Average – Male James Waddington
Green Shield Batting Average Preston Lee
Green Shield Bowling Average Archie Rochford
PGs Batting Average Joel Davies
PGs Grade Bowling Average Joel Davies
Brewer Shield Batting Average Hannah Moss
Brewer Shield Bowling Average Lara Hughes